Universiti Malaya Clinches National Varsity Chinese Debating Championship for Fourth Consecutive Time

Universiti Malaya Clinches National Varsity Chinese Debating Championship for Fourth Consecutive Time

The Universiti Malaya Debate Team has showcased remarkable performance, winning the championship title at The 19th National Varsity Chinese Debating Championship. Minister of Housing and Local Government YB Tuan Nga Kor Ming officiated the final competition and presented prizes to the winners in the event held at HGH Convention Centre, Sentul on May 4th.

Since its establishment in 1988, the National Varsity Chinese Debating Championship has entered its 36th year. As Malaysia’s oldest and most prestigious Chinese-language debate competition, the Championship has long been committed to leading discussions on national and international current affairs, and cultivating university students with academic, critical thinking, analytical, and debating abilities.

This year’s Championship brought together 23 teams from across the country, engaging in 36 debates encompassing diverse proposals on political, economic, educational, and social issues, spanning national and international scopes, all to determine the ultimate champion.

Universiti Malaya demonstrated outstanding performance, overcoming teams from UCSI University, Universiti Putra Malaysia, Universiti Utara Malaysia, Xiamen University Malaysia, Multimedia University (Melaka Campus), and ultimately facing Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia in the final round for the championship.

In the intense final showdown, the two debate teams engaged in a spirited debate, captivating the audience and garnering high praise as “the most thrilling final in recent years” from the judges.

In the end, Universiti Malaya clinched victory with a 4-3 vote against their rivals, successfully retaining their title as the champion. The team received RM10,000, along with individual trophies and certificates. Additionally, Neng Yi Qian from Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia was recognised as the best speaker for both the final and the entire tournament.

The Universiti Malaya team comprises the following debaters:

Chai Jie Yang (Master of Public Policy, 2nd year)
Khoo Chin Wei (Bachelor of Laws, 4th year)
Lew Hon Yang (Bachelor of Laws, 3rd year)
Tang Jun Yau (Bachelor of Electrical Engineering, 3rd year)
Wong Zi En (Bachelor of Business Administration, 3rd year)
Yong Li Yan (Bachelor of Laws, 3rd year)

The debaters feel proud of the achievement and are grateful for the strong support provided by the University, coaches, as well as their friends and family.

Historically, out of the 19 competitions held since 1988, Universiti Malaya has successfully clinched the championship 12 times and maintained a consecutive winning record four times for the years 2018, 2021, 2022, and 2024.

-Dr. Chiew Thiam Kian /Dino

Share This


Wordpress (0)
Disqus ( )